Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Liners Advice on Fleece Liners

a happy chick

Cavy Slave
Hi! This is my first post, so apologies if I've totally messed it up or something! I have a bunch of questions regarding fleece liners, and I really don't want to mess this up as it's my first time making a large one, and I've bought Zorb which is on the pricier side and definitely not something I want to waste. 😁

So my cage is a 2x6 C and C for my two pigs, and currently, they have unsewn layers of towel then fleece. I want to make sewn liners so it's hopefully a little easier to manage. I was thinking about whether to make 2 2x3's to cover the base, or 1 2x6? (Sorry if that doesn't make sense 😅.) I was originally thinking of the first option but one of my girls loves to burrow and I don't want her sneaking underneath onto the chloroplast and getting herself all wet. If it was just one big piece hopefully that would mitigate her burrowing.

Also, does Zorb need to be prewashed? Originally I thought it didn't but after a little digging, I found that some people found it did need a prewash. If anyone has any experience with that I would be very glad to hear it!

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave
I've never used Zorb, so don't know about that. But prewashing shouldn't hurt it, AFAIK.

I doubt that either sewing layers together or making a bigger piece will keep your pig from burrowing. You'd be better off weighting the fleece down. And the more layers you have, the heavier the fleece is, and harder to wash and dry.

Tamina

Cavy Gazer